Why I need Jesus Christ in my life

Why do I need Jesus Christ in my life?  The sort answer, grace.

I need His Grace to get me through life.  The beauty of God’s grace?  YOU CAN’T EARN IT! And thank God for that!  The Skit Guys do an excellent skit on God’s Grace.

Right before I started down my Walk of Prayer, I was very close to bottoming out…again.  I was in a place where I was trying so hard to be everything for everyone, not taking any time for me.  This made me miserable, and I made sure everyone knew it.  Looking back, I think I probably wanted everyone to be miserable with me.   I was trying to keep too many plates spinning up in the air, I was barely hanging on.  I was a walking oxymoron…making sure everyone noticed how miserably unselfish I was being…but it was still all about me (which last time I checked is the definition of selfish).

I needed a break, some relief, someone to take these worries (my plates) and take care of them for me.  I wanted to be happy and I had no clue how to get there.  I was drowning in the hole I had dug and filled myself.  My misery was my own doing, but I was positive it had been put upon me by the universe.  This may sound over dramatic, but this really was the world I was “living in” at the time.

The funny thing is, half of those plates I had spinning up there, I really didn’t need to worry about spinning.  I was worried about the wrong things, worldly things.  I wanted everything to be perfect.  If it’s not perfect, it’s not good enough.  I held myself and others to such an unrealistically high standard no one ever got there, not even myself.  I was constantly beating my self down, and if I’m honest, everyone around me as well.

Do you know how exhausting it is to “always be perfect”?  I put it in quotes, because who is perfect?  Only God is perfect.  And he sent his Son to die for us so we don’t have to BE perfect….because we can’t.  That is grace, God’s Grace.  It’s not about us, it’s always about Jesus…what he did up there on the cross.  I don’t have to be perfect BECAUSE of God’s grace.  You can’t earn God’s grace…so stop trying!

Once I allowed myself to not be perfect, and to be OK with not being perfect; once I started to let Jesus take some of my worries, my plates, my baggage, and allowed His Grace to come into my life…everything in life became easier.  I didn’t deserve it, and that is the point.  We don’t deserve God’s grace because we can’t earn it…all we can do is accept it, and be thankful for it.

Thank you Jesus for your wonderful grace, thank you for giving me the grace I don’t deserve.  Amen.

Have you accepted God’s grace in your life?  I struggle to accept His grace daily…but every day I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

